clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Yankees named AL Gold Glove finalists

Anthony Rizzo, Jose Trevino, and three others have a chance to win defensive honors for their work in 2022.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Division Series - Cleveland Guardians v New York Yankees - Game Five Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

Every year since 1957, Rawlings has given out Gold Glove awards to MLB players who are judged to be the best at their positions. The honors are voted on by each of the 30 managers and six coaches from each team, with none allowed to pick any of their own players (they can also only vote on their respective leagues). An added wrinkle for 2022 that makes a lot of sense for the modern game is that there will be a “Utility” winner for the first time, given how often some players these days rotate positions.

The Gold Gloves are typically given out in mid-November. Until just a few years ago, there was no buildup to the awards, but now, Rawlings likes to announce three finalists at each position. The Yankees nominated as finalists were pitcher Jameson Taillon, catcher Jose Trevino, first baseman Anthony Rizzo, utilityman DJ LeMahieu, and left fielder Andrew Benintendi (who split time with the Royals).

Technically, third baseman Josh Donaldson probably should have been nominated, but I don’t think many Yankees fans are going to feel sorry for him. More sympathy will be found with likely MVP Aaron Judge, who has put on his own season-long clinic of superb defense in right field — including just last night. Perhaps the fact that he split time for a decent chunk of the season when the Yankees needed someone to cover center for them worked against his favor. C’est la vie; we know how good Judge is out there, and that’s all that matters.

As noted by James Smyth of the YES Network, Taillon would be the fourth Yankees pitcher to win the honor (Bobby Shantz, Ron Guidry, Mike Mussina); Trevino would be the third Yankees catcher (Elston Howard, Thurman Munson); and Rizzo would be the fifth Yankees first baseman (Joe Pepitone, Chris Chambliss, Don Mattingly, Mark Teixeira). Outfielders are trickier to distinguish since for many years, Rawlings simply gave awards out to three outfielders in each league rather than specifying positions like left field or center.

Best of luck to these Yankees in the voting!

Since we’re a Yankees site and only focusing on the American League, here are said finalists, as revealed today. The nominated Yankees are in bold.

José Berríos, Blue Jays
Shane Bieber, Guardians
Jameson Taillon, Yankees

Sean Murphy, A’s
Cal Raleigh, Mariners
Jose Trevino, Yankees

First base
Luis Arraez, Twins
Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Blue Jays
Anthony Rizzo, Yankees

Second base
Andrés Giménez, Guardians
Jonathan Schoop, Tigers
Marcus Semien, Rangers

Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox
Carlos Correa, Twins
Jeremy Peña, Astros

Third base
Matt Chapman, Blue Jays
Ramón Urías, Orioles
José Ramírez, Guardians

Left field
Andrew Benintendi, Royals/Yankees
Steven Kwan, Guardians
Brandon Marsh, Angels

Center field
Cedric Mullins, Orioles
Myles Straw, Guardians
Michael A. Taylor, Royals

Right field
Max Kepler, Twins
Jackie Bradley Jr., Red Sox/Blue Jays
Kyle Tucker, Astros

Whit Merrifield, Royals/Blue Jays
DJ LeMahieu, Yankees
Luis Rengifo, Angels