clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2013 Gold Glove Awards: Robinson Cano gets nothing

New, comments
The Star-Ledger-USA TODAY Sports

It seems that no Yankees will be praised for their defense this season. After missing out on a Fielding Bible Award, Robinson Cano also lost out to Dustin Pedroia on a Gold Glove Award. It was rightfully won as Pedroia accumulated 15 defensive runs saved, while Cano only amounted to six.

Catchers Yadier Molina (sixth in a row) and Salvador Perez (first) won the Gold Gloves, while Eric Hosmer and Paul Goldschmidt won, both for the first time. Brandon Phillips (fourth) won alongside Pedroia, though Darwin Barney should probably have won for the NL.

Another three Orioles won Gold Gloves as J.J. Hardy (second), Adam Jones (third), and Manny Machado all won. On the National League side, Andrelton Simmons, Nolan Arenado and Carlos Gomez took home the gold.

In left field, Alex Gordon (third in a row) and Carlos Gonzalez (second) won, though Starling Marte was a much better fielder. In right field Shane Victorino and Gerardo Parra won the gold. R.A. Dickey and Adam Wainwright (second) both won the award for pitchers.

Cano had previously won the Gold Glove for second basemen in 2012 and 2010. If Mark Teixeira had made it through the season, he might have had a shot at his sixth and fourth with the Yankees. If Derek Jeter was healthy, well, he hasn't won one since 2010.

More from Pinstripe Alley: