clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Yankees shut out of 2013 Fielding Bible Awards

New, comments
Ron Antonelli

The Fielding Bible Awards are given out to the best player at each position in either league and are considered by some to be more accurate than the Gold Glove Award. This season the Yankees didn't win one.

Dustin Pedroia beat out Robinson Cano, the only Yankee in contention for a Gold Glove, after leading all second basemen with 15 defensive runs saved in 2013. It is likely Cano will lose out on the Gold Glove as well when the awards are announced. As good of a second baseman as Cano was this season and has been in recent years, Pedroia and Ben Zobrist look to be the better fielders in 2013.

Some Yankees must have at least been in the conversation. Among their position in defensive runs saved Hiroki Kuroda placed in the top five and Lyle Overbay the top ten.

Paul Goldschmidt, Manny Machado, Andrelton Simmons, Alex Gordon, Carlos Gomez, Gerardo Parra, Yadier Molina, and R.A. Dickey won the remaining Fielding Bible awards for their positions. Molina has won every year, outside of 2011, since the 2007 season. Dickey unseated four-time winner Mark Buehrle to win his first.

Only two different Yankees have won the award: Mark Teixeira in 2012 and Brett Gardner in 2010 and 2011 as a left fielder. Ichiro Suzuki won in 2010, 2009, and 2006 as the right fielder for the Mariners.

More from Pinstripe Alley: