clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The Sabathia Addendum

New, comments

Has it sunk in yet that Sabathia has yet to win a World Series game?

Rules:

10.17 Winning And Losing Pitcher
(a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead

File this under jscape's crazy ideas if you want to:

Rule 10.17a:

No pitcher shall be awarded a win during a game in which he recorded a blown save and pitches 1 inning or less.  In such a case, the win shall be credited to the pitcher of record when the reliever entered the game.  A reliever who blows a save and pitches more than 1 effective inning subsequently may be eligible for the win.

NY Yankees IP H R ER BB SO HR ERA
Sabathia (W, 1-0) 6.2 7 3 3 3 6 1 3.29
Marte, D (H, 1) 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
Chamberlain (BS, 1) 1.0 1 1 1 0 3 1 4.50
Rivera, Ma (S, 2) 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00